2015 GISA Conference Presenters
Posted 10/19/2015 09:37AM

The Lovett School is thrilled to have 11 faculty members presenting at the 2015 Georgia Independent Schools Association (GISA) Annual Conference. Presenters will speak on a range of topics that will enlighten, energize, and drive peers to embrace new technology that complements learning, implement strategies and systems for student growth, and employ best practices for success in education. Teachers from independent schools across the state will be treated to the following when they attend presentations by Lovett faculty:

  • See a demonstration on how to introduce and manage free choice reading in secondary schools while still holding students accountable.
  • Create interdisciplinary units using a Critical Friends Group.
  • Use technology and design thinking in middle school Global Issues classes.
  • Explore current trends and best practices in college admissions.
  • Define classroom culture using the C-6 Framework.
  • Learn the 5 + 5 System of Instruction Strategies which invites students to engage in learning, push for deeper thinking, and construct their own understanding. 
  • View a short video on the history and mission of the Siempre Verde program and discuss various experiential education aspects focusing on tropical conservation, service learning, and global awareness.
  • Discuss four research-supported study strategies that provide lasting learning for school success.
  • Embed argument across the curriculum and provide students with opportunities to lift their level of learning through arguing.
  • Learn from a panel discussion on recruitment and retention best (and worst) practices when working with Latino families in higher education.
  • Delve into an experience with the Photography Archives at the United States Holocaust Museum through a collection of 40 photographs of Heinrick Jost in the ghetto of Warsaw.

Lovett presenters include: Julia Franks (US), Todd Wass (MS), Jessica Sant (US), Ayodele Harrison (US), Alex Reynolds (US), Geoff Richman (ARC), Jennifer Tatasciore (LS), Kristina Mills (LS), Irma Navarro (US), Karey Walter (US), and Yesenia Alonso (MS).


powered by finalsite